APPG for International Students

IHE acts as the secretariat for the All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) for International Students, which provides a focal point for political activity and industry cooperation on the important issue of international education and students in the UK.

The APPG’s statement of purpose is as follows:

To recognise the internationalisation and global prominence of UK education; promote the value of international students to UK education, economy and ‘soft power’; raise awareness of issues which affect international students and UK education; and provide a platform for collaboration between parliamentarians, international education institutions and professionals and business leaders.

The APPG is governed by the following officers:

  • Paul Blomfield MP (Co-Chair and Registered Contact)
  • The Lord Bilimoria CBE DL (Co-Chair)
  • Rt Hon Nicky Morgan MP (Secretary)
  • Baroness Uddin (Treasurer)
  • Geoffrey Robinson MP (Vice-Chair)
  • Alison Thewliss MP (Vice-Chair)
  • Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe (Vice-Chair)
  • The Rt Hon Lord Willetts (Vice-Chair)

Visit the APPG website for more information at